Dolce Farniente :)

Eat Pray Love is one of my favorite books. The author describes the art of doing nothing(from Italy and known as Dolce Farniente) and what a great pleasure it is. So, I decided to try it myself.

I was greatly bored by the daily routine of getting up and ready, going to office, coming home totally drained out and then eating and sleeping. I was thinking of taking a small break out of this and was planning to do so on upcoming long weekend of Good Friday. But, I just thought I needed two so, I took a break of two days from work and absolutely did nothing. Did nothing means did not do those things that irritate me or drain me. Instead I indulged myself into the things I love to do (however, not shopping!! ).

I had been planning to draw, paint or sketch just for the fun of it since many days. So, I did it ! To start with I drew a picture of Lord Ganesha.Β I do not want to comment on how it came.. its for you to decide but, I will definitely like to tell you that it was a great joy. My brother was surprised that I can even draw. (The disadvantage is that I will have to draw for his science assignments). Here is a shot of what I sketched :

Lord Ganesha

Lord Ganesha

Excuse me for the paper but Β it was done just for fun and pleasure. One of friend says you don’t blog about or publicize the things that you do for fun and pleasure. But, I think you should publicize the ideas at least, so that you tempt others to do so πŸ™‚

Also I had been longing to cook something nice since a long time. So, I made a Bangda fry (Mackerel fry) and Spicy Chicken Chilly. All the very very spicy Maharashtrian food πŸ˜›

I am actually feeling nice and pretty calm today πŸ™‚ . I think you too should give this a try and experience the great pleasure of nothingness πŸ˜›

Mackerel fry

Mackerel fry

Chicken Chilly fry

Chicken Chilly fry

~ by Amruta Deore on April 10, 2012.

7 Responses to “Dolce Farniente :)”

  1. I need one of those do-nothing days! Great post!

  2. Lord Ganesh looks good….Can you post some kind of vegetarian dishes for people like me ??? lol

  3. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as clean as when I arrived.

Leave a Reply

 
