I jumped from a plane !!!

I jumped from a plane

I jumped from a plane

If somebody asks me what kind of a person I am, ADVENTUROUS – is definitely NOT the word that describes me.. BUT it is definitely one of the things that interests me. I have a list of things that I would like to do before I die and Sky diving has always been at the top of the list.

So, fortunately my job offered me various opportunities for travelling in particular to USA. During my first trip to Arizona I came to know of a skydiving place nearby. Unfortunately I could not get any of my colleagues turned friends to go there and jump off the plane with me. Being a ‘oh so very independent gal’ I was planning to go on my own and do it alone but I realized that this is an experience best gained in a group. So, I decided to postpone my plans until I get some one to go with me.

However, during my last visit I got asked by one of my friends if I would like to go. She was a bit skeptical but I convinced her (I am oh soooo good at convincing :P). Basically what I told her was that these guys have good infrastructure and that nobody had died till date. She was convinced that we cant be the first ones to die and on similar lines we convinced two more of our friends to and dare the jump. (See it was all about convincing that we wont die 😛 :D)

I jumped from a plane

I jumped from a plane

The skydive location is at Eloy, AZ.  It’s a small place about 50 miles from Tucson(where I was located) and 65 miles from Phoenix.

We decided to go there on a Sunday Morning. It was a wonderful drive with nobody talking and everyone was lost in their own thoughts. Finally we reached there in about an hour or so. After the payments and small briefing we filled up the indemnity and health declaration forms which was quite a boring process.

I jumped from a plane

I jumped from a plane

We opted for a photographer who would click as well as video shoot the entire process of diving  (well I ended up spending double of what I had planned.. but who cares :P)

I got Mike as my instructor who was quite a skinny guy and I wondered if he would be able to manage a chubby me. We got our briefing on ‘what to do’ ‘what not to do’ and ‘when to do what’ from our instructors. Well now you would ask me if I was scared but let me tell you I was not!! Frankly speaking I was partially dumb and was avoiding every thoughts that would pull me back (ex : What if the shoot does not open, What if we land or crash into one of surrounding trees, What if I never jump and make a great fool of myself, What if the instructor passes off due to the excessive perfume I had put on, What if I crash into a bird on my way down (and more or less similar questions). So, I just shut down my mind and decided to smile a lot and enjoy the moment.

550347_289357517848319_1433758797_n

Well it was a clear day with beautiful clear blue skies. We were supposed to jump from a height 13000ft. After the briefing we were taken to the plane in an open cart. I don’t know how else to name that vehicle 😛

Once we boarded and the plane took off my heart started racing. As we rose upwards fear was still not something that I felt. I was starting to become more curious of how falling down from 13000ft would feel like. I was told that I was the last person to jump off from the plane. I was not sure how I felt about that – relieved, happy, confused X0X0..

558914_289357601181644_597759376_n

However, I was deceived.. when we reached the height of 13K ft my instructor tied himself firmly to me and started moving. It was then that I knew that I was going to be the first person to jump!!

I jumped from a plane

I jumped from a plane

My photographer jumped before us and before I could ask him anything I was already in the door and staring at the ground below. Well… Now that was the moment my mind decided to respond and ask me if I am really going to do that.. however my instructor gave me no time to reply to my mind and before I knew we had jumped off the plane…

I jumped from a plane

I jumped from a plane

Whoa !! what a feeling it was.. I could hardly look around .. I still remember that great feeling of falling speedily and forgetting all the instructions.. I was free falling finally!!

IMG_8453I could see the mountains at the distance and also a black figure who was probably another solo diver who had jumped with us..

https://n0ts0creative.wordpress.com/ IMG_8476IMG_8528 https://n0ts0creative.wordpress.comThe atmosphere was too cold and my face was freezing… The speed of our fall and the speed of wind opposing us were making my skin ripple like waves on water.. I could hardly close my mouth.. (well when I saw my bugs bunny faces in the pics I was ROFLMAO)..

I jumped from a plane

I jumped from a plane

In that state of excitement I somehow managed to give some thumbs up (of course for posting on facebook) and continued my free fall.. but more than thrill what I felt was shock.. I don’t even remember any snapshots of me looking directly at ground.. I was either looking at the diver , my photographer the hills or trying to understand why the hell I could not close my mouth

I jumped from a plane

I jumped from a plane

.. After falling for about a minute I saw my photographer moving away from us and I wondered why.. And suddenly there was strong force pulling me back into sky..

IMG_8531

I jumped from a plane

I jumped from a plane

The parachute was finally opened.. the force literally knocked me off from my position .. I was in a trance while falling but after opening the chute I regained my senses.. I realized I was looking at the base below and I was screaming with joy.. I remember screaming ‘Yes I did it’ and I guess Mike was probably bored of hearing that dialogue from all the tandem divers everyday 😀

I don’t know why .. but Mike gave me the controls of the chute and instructed me on how to maneuver it.. We did a lot of rotations by pulling the strings .. I maneuvered it for quite some time.. We were a lot closer to ground now and my instructor took back the controls and asked me to straighten my legs and be ready for the landing.. Finally we reached the ground and the landing was quite smooth. I had considered getting my ass bruised but thankfully it dint happen. So, I will call it a smooth landing :P.

IMG_8539

I jumped from a plane

I jumped from a plane

I was at a loss of words after reaching the ground and got onto my feet only after my instructor pulled me up. I posed smilingly for my last diving picture with Mike 🙂

390065_289358687848202_1915644539_n

I jumped from a plane

I jumped from a plane

Well its very difficult to summarize how I felt. I have heard of people crossing off things from to-do list after they have done it and I thought it would be the same.. one thing down my bucket list.. but it was not.. I really want to do it again and again and again .. I think I would never ever get bored of it !! I would also like to pursue it professionally if I get a chance to do so ..

I jumped from a plane

I jumped from a plane

~ by Amruta Deore on June 6, 2013.

4 Responses to “I jumped from a plane !!!”

  1. whoaa!! sky diving is one thing that I have planned to do at the end! lol.. cuz, with the severe vertigo that I have, I have no clue when would I do it! 🙂
    but trust me, ur writing has actually inspired me to take it up!
    “What if the instructor passes off due to the excessive perfume I had put on” ROFL.. such a light hearted post, Amruta 🙂 thanks for sharing!

  2. Adventurous you are! That’s some serious photography skills to capture these stills thousands of feet in the air. Thanks for checking out my blog!

Leave a Reply

 
